stem education

12 Institutes of Technology created for further education

Image credit: Dreamstime

The UK Government has announced the creation of 12 Institutes of Technology that will allow students over the age of 16 to study for technical qualifications as an alternative to a university education.

It said their creation should help to cover the gaps in STEM education in the UK and prevent some people from ending their education “earlier than they need to”.

The institutions have been designed to boost uptake of higher level professional and technical education which are lacking the UK, compared to other advanced economies.

The institutes will be collaborations between universities, further education colleges, and major employers (including Nissan, Siemens and Microsoft).

They will specialise in delivering higher level technical training in subjects such as digital, advanced manufacturing and engineering that will provide employers with the skilled workforce they need.

Prime Minister Theresa May said: “I firmly believe that education is key to opening up opportunity for everyone - but to give our young people the skills they need to succeed, we need an education and training system which is more flexible and diverse than it is currently.

“These new institutes will help end outdated perceptions that going to university is the only desirable route and build a system which harnesses the talents of our young people.”

The institutes will be backed by a £170m public investment so they have access to state-of-the-art equipment and facilities. Some will be located in refurbished buildings, while others will use new facilities.

Education Secretary Damian Hinds said: “Institutes of Technology will help employers to get the skilled workforce they need, especially in much sought-after STEM skills and will offer young people a clear path to a great, well paid career.”

The 12 Institutes of Technology are:

  • Barking and Dagenham College
  • Dudley College of Technology
  • Harrow College & Uxbridge College
  • Milton Keynes College
  • New College Durham
  • Queen Mary University of London
  • Solihull College & University Centre
  • Swindon College
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Lincoln
  • Weston College of Further and Higher Education
  • York College

The first institutes are expected to open in September this year.

Sign up to the E&T News e-mail to get great stories like this delivered to your inbox every day.

Recent articles