Olympic Delivery Authority team win three awards

Olympic Park team win project management awards

The body responsible for building the London 2012 Olympic Park won three times at this week's APM Project Management Awards.

The Olympic Delivery Authority (ODA) won two awards for their construction programme of the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games and also walked away with a special recognition award.

After winning Programme of the Year, sponsored by Program Framework, and the prestigious BNFL Award, ODA chief executive Dennis Hone collected the special recognition award from the ceremony’s host, TV presenter Chris Hollins.

Hone was joined on stage by colleagues from the construction and transport departments who were all involved in one of the biggest and most successful projects this country has ever seen and the learning legacy it left behind.

ODA chairman Sir John Armitt CBE, an Honorary Fellow of APM, also won the ‘lifetime achievement’ award for his outstanding contribution to the project management profession.

“For me this is a fantastic award," Sir Armitt said. "The fact that it is on behalf of APM means a great deal to somebody who has spent so much of his life in project management. I’m very conscious of the fact that I receive it on behalf of hundreds of people who have supported me over the years in the projects that we have worked on together and been able to deliver successfully.

"Thank you for this wonderful award and the recognition that it brings.”

Network Rail won two awards at the Microsoft Project-sponsored event of APM’s 40th anniversary year.

Richard Walker won Project Manager of the Year, sponsored by Programme Recruitment, while Christian Irwin walked away with Young Project Manager of the Year sponsored by QA Aikona.

This year saw a brand new category, sponsored by Shell, celebrate health and safety in the profession. The winner of the brand new Shell HSSE (health, safety, security and environment) Award was AstraZeneca Global Engineering for managing HSSE on construction projects in India, China and Russia.

The organisation that can call itself Project Management Company of the Year is Arup. Julie Wood and Thea Oakley were presented with the award on behalf of the global company that starts 100 new projects a day and has 10,000 projects live at any one time.

The much-coveted Project of the Year Award sponsored by Siemens was won by Transport for London for creating step-free access at Green Park underground station. Marking a key milestone in Transport for London’s readiness for the 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games, the project was delivered ahead of schedule and under budget in such a constrained environment.

Allen Construction Consultancy’s refurbishment of the historic Old Fire Station building in the centre of Oxford won Community Project of the Year sponsored by Project magazine. Opened in November last year, the building was transformed into a community asset for the city providing a new CRISIS Skylight, an arts centre and a café.

Overseas Project of the Year went to EC Harris International for their Al Wahda Master Development in Abu Dhabi. The inner city development is made up of a 5-star hotel, shopping mall consisting of 450 retail units, commercial tower and 300 apartments.

The APM Academic Awards, sponsored by BAE Systems, saw Carl Dutton from BT walk away with the Geoffrey Trimble Award for the best master’s post-graduate dissertation.

While Sarah Scott from Atos won the Brian Willis Award for the year’s highest mark gained in an APMP exam.

Recent articles

Info Message

Our sites use cookies to support some functionality, and to collect anonymous user data.

Learn more about IET cookies and how to control them