Titan Clydebank Crane

Clydebank Titan Crane gets engineering award

The Clydebank Titan has been awarded an Engineering Heritage Award by the Institution of Mechanical Engineers.

The Clydebank Titan joins the likes of Tower Bridge, the Vulcan Bomber and the PS Waverley in getting the award.

John Wood MBE, chairman of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers’ Heritage Committee said: “The Clydebank Titan Crane is a magnificent example of mechanical engineering, which forms an integral part of the local landscape.

“This award is being presented to the Titan Crane to celebrate its position as the oldest crane of its type in existence. The Clydebank Titan is one of only 13 Titan cranes that remain in the world.

“This award doesn’t just celebrate the great work of Sir William Arrol and Company and the team who built the crane but also an award to celebrate the fantastic work of Clydebank re-built to restore it and open it up to the public.”

Built in 1907 by Sir William Arrol and Company Limited, Titan was instrumental in the prosperity of the shipyard and Clydebank’s rich shipbuilding heritage.

Claire McGinley, Operations Manager from Clydebank re-built said: "We are very honoured to receive this prestigious heritage engineering award from the Institution of Mechanical Engineers.

"The Titan was the first electrically powered giant cantilever crane in the world and its lifting power helped John Browns build the biggest ships in the world in the last century. 

"This recognition of the Titan by the Institution underlines the proud skills and ingenuity of our mechanical engineers - past and present - who have played such an important part in the development of shipbuilding and industry not just on the Clyde but in the rest of Scotland and UK"

The Titan Crane is Category ‘A’ listed, the highest listing in Scotland putting it on a par with both Edinburgh and Stirling Castles. It opened in 2007 and in 2008 it was awarded the Chicago Athenaeum Award for Architecture and in 2009, a further two awards from the Civic Trust, including the Scottish Place Making Award.

Recent articles

Info Message

Our sites use cookies to support some functionality, and to collect anonymous user data.

Learn more about IET cookies and how to control them