Laurie-Ann Benner receiving her IET award last year from host Myleene Klass.

Make it in Great Britain 30 Under 30 revealed

Thirty young rising stars of the manufacturing world have been announced this week by Business Minister Mark Prisk.

The Make it in Great Britain 30 Under 30 come from all walks of manufacturing. Selected by a panel of judges, they work at companies such as BAE Systems, Bentley Motors, Nissan and GlaxoSmithKline and include PEME Process Control’s Laurie-Ann Benner, who won 2011’s IET Young Women Engineer of the Year Mary George Memorial Prize for Apprentices.

The finalists were selected for standing out from their peers and demonstrating passion, enthusiasm and ambition in their roles and will now go on to act as ambassadors for the Make it in Great Britain campaign, which aims to challenge outdated opinions and transform the image of modern manufacturing. They will have a special role in engaging with other young people, to ensure that the next generation is aware of the great jobs and careers in the industry.

“There’s a huge range of different job opportunities in modern manufacturing, in design, engineering and production. We need more talented, enthusiastic people to fill these roles, and we hope that the 30 Under 30 will inspire the next generation to consider a career in manufacturing,” says Prisk.

Entrepreneur and Dragons’ Den Star Deborah Meaden is also backing the campaign, and is particularly supportive of the 30 under 30.

“It’s important to encourage young people to see the value of manufacturing careers,” she says. “The 30 under 30 will be a valuable asset the campaign by offering a fresh perspective on what it takes to start up a business and launch new ideas. I look forward to working alongside them to help inspire the next generation of youngsters about a future in manufacturing.”

Find out more about the Make it in Great Britain campaign.


Make it in Great Britain's 30 Under 30 - the full list

Adam King - Novar
Alasdair Mercer - Surgical Innovations
Alexander Schey - Vantage Power
Ayantika Mitra - Atomic 22
Bernadette Collins - McLaren
Beth Hutchinson - GSK
Beth Pickering - Airbus
Charlotte Bryan - David Nieper Ltd
Charlotte Watling - Bentley
Chris Thomson - Agustawestland
Darcy O’Gara - CTG/ Goodrich Corp
Gary Stephenson - Agustawestland
Gemma Grainger - DS Smith Packaging
Hannah Proffitt - Bentley
James Cowan - Rolls-Royce
James Holloway - Arup
Kai Burkitt - BAE Systems
Kevin Kelly - Nissan
Laurie Ann Benner - PEME
Lizzie White - AkzoNobel ICI Paints Ltd
Lucy Nuttall - Frontline Forensics
Natalie Desty - Matchtech
Peter Legg - Pendennis
Philip Smith - Vestguard
Rebecca Chapman - Hoval Ltd
Rojiv Ali - Goodrich Corp
Ryan Hopkin - Ford of Britain
Sakthy Selvakumaran - Ramboll
Sarah Woodward - Papercup Company
Simon Drake - Naim

Recent articles

Info Message

Our sites use cookies to support some functionality, and to collect anonymous user data.

Learn more about IET cookies and how to control them