Prof Brian Cox

�1m engineering prize judging panel unveiled

Nominations are now open and the judging panel has been unveiled for the £1 million Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering.

The prize is a global award that celebrates the greatest international engineering achievements that benefit humanity. The judging panel is made up of some of the biggest names in science and engineering from around the world, including Professor Brian Cox in the UK, Professor Calestous Juma in the USA and Narayana Murthy in India.

Chairman of the QEPrize Foundation Lord Browne said: “Engineering has played an integral part in developing the infrastructures of the world’s most powerful economies, including our own.

“It is absolutely critical that we as a nation make it our mission to inspire and excite the next generation of engineers. It is only through engineering that ideas are brought out of the lab and into the marketplace.”

The ten engineering-related UK Sector Skills Councils estimate that the engineering industry will need over 2 million new recruits at all levels in the next decade to join the 5.6 million already employed by the sector.

“We need a healthy pipeline of talented, skilled and enthusiastic people to continue our proud tradition as an engineering nation. We must also give our students and young people a greater incentive to choose engineering as a career than is currently on offer. Our future economic prosperity depends on it and I am confident that this prize will help to achieve that objective,” Lord Browne said.

In a message of support for the prize, the Queen said: “Over the past 60 years, I have had the privilege of seeing how engineering developments can make a profound impact on people’s lives. I am delighted to lend my support to this prize and I hope that it inspires many more people across the globe to develop life changing engineering creations in the years to come.”

The judging panel for the prize is:

- Prof Frances Arnold, Chemical Engineer, Professor at Caltech, USA

- Lord Alec Broers FREng Hon FMedSci FRS (Chair), Electrical Engineer. Past President, Royal Academy of Engineering, UK

- Prof Brian Cox OBE, Particle Physicist. Royal Society Research Fellow, University of Manchester, UK

- Prof Lynn Gladden, CBE FREng FRS Chemical Engineer. Professor at University of Cambridge, UK

- Diane Greene, Director of Intuit, Director of Google, USA

- Prof Calestous Juma, HonFREng FRS, Professor of International Development and Director of Science, Tech and Globalisation Project, Harvard University, USA

- Prof Hiroshi Komiyama, Chemical Engineer President Engineering Academy of Japan

- Prof John Hennessy, Electrical Engineer. President, Stanford University, USA

- Prof. Dr. h.c. Reinhard Hüttl, President, acatech, Germany

- Nathan Mhyrvold, Co-founder, Intellectual Ventures, USA

- Narayana Murthy, Electronic Engineer. Founder, Infosys, India

- Prof Choon Fong Shih, Mechanical Engineer. President, King Abdullah, University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia

- Dr Charles Vest FREng Mechanical Engineer. President, National Academy of Engineering, USA

- Paul Westbury FREng, Civil Engineer. CEO, Buro Happold, UK

Further information:

Find out more about the QEPrize.

Recent articles

Info Message

Our sites use cookies to support some functionality, and to collect anonymous user data.

Learn more about IET cookies and how to control them