AQA IT department wins accreditation

The IT Department of the AQA – the Assessment and Qualifications Alliance – has been accredited to the National Computing Centre’s prestigious Standard for IT Departments.

AQA is the biggest provider of general qualifications (GCSE and GSE) in the UK and one of the ‘big three’ English unitary awarding bodies. Each year it awards qualifications to approximately 1.7m students who sit over 3m GCSE and over 1.0m GCE examinations in over 7000 schools and colleges. The provision of information in a timely, appropriate, secure and effective manner is a fundamental aspect of AQA’s success.

NCC’s Standard benchmarks an organisation’s IT function, and claims to be ‘the only holistic standard’ for the provision of IT by an enterprise IT Department in-house or outsourced.

“The IT Department has developed a good reputation, but we still need to establish a mutual understanding with the business about what a good catalogue of IT services looks like,” says AQA IT director Peter Dawson. “The ability to benchmark ourselves against a recognised industry standard was a key factor in our decision to seek IT Department accreditation from the NCC.”

AQA joins a list of organisations whose IT departments have been accredited to the NCC Standard, including Imperial College London, Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council, North Wales Police, and the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service - UCAS.

Related E&T Content

Case Study: Open Source came to the aid of schools and colleges exam board the Assessment and Qualifications Alliance (AQA) when it needed a secure extranet capable of delivering materials to 35,000 examiners and moderators at low cost.

More information:

Recent articles

Info Message

Our sites use cookies to support some functionality, and to collect anonymous user data.

Learn more about IET cookies and how to control them