First accredited IT department award winners

The first four organisations to be accredited to the National Computing Centre’s Standard for IT Departments have been announced. Representatives from Dickinson Dees, North Wales Police, Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council, and Lancashire Constabulary, received their certificates at the National Computing Centre’s Annual Conference in London.

The National Computing Centre's IT Department Accreditation (ITDA) scheme is designed to help IT departments demonstrate fitness for purpose through an independent appraisal of the key business activities they undertake. The ITDA was created in collaboration with NCC’s membership community, and is based on an existing framework successfully developed by NCC for the Regional Development Agency, Advantage West Midlands.

The Scheme is designed for internal IT departments, or IT service companies that either specialise in service delivery, or buy-in services as clients for others. The application of ITDA is scalable, and suits all sizes of IT function, the NCC says. Organisations that become accredited are able to use the ‘National Computing Centre Accredited IT Department’ marque to demonstrate that best practices are used across the department.

"IT departments are being challenged to do more with less,” says NCC CEO Steve Markwell. “The IT Department Accreditation provides re-assurance that your IT department is doing the right things well. How do you find out if you are optimising your performance while still managing the risks?”

The photo above shows Norman Crawford and Julie Hayes of TMBC receiving their award from the BBC’s Declan Curry, and NCC CEO Steve Markwell.

More IT section news

More information:

Recent articles

Info Message

Our sites use cookies to support some functionality, and to collect anonymous user data.

Learn more about IET cookies and how to control them