Wendy Hall honoured in New Year awards

IET Fellow Professor Wendy Hall CBE has been named as a DBE in the 2009 New Year Honours List, for services to science and technology.

One of the world’s leading computer scientists, Wendy Hall is a Professor at the University of Southampton and was Head of the University’s School of Electronics and Computer Science from 2002 to 2007.

In 2003 Professor Hall was appointed President of the British Computer Society; a year later Hall was among three IET fellows who formed part of the Tony Blair’s Council of Science and Technology.

In 2005 she became the first woman to be elected senior vice-president of the Royal Academy of Engineering, and in July 2008 she took up office as president of the Association for Computing Machinery, the first person from outside North America to hold this role in the organisation’s 60-year history.

In November 2008 she was one of 25 European figures honoured for their contribution to Information, Communication and Technology by the EU. Among the many awards she has won is the Anita Borg Award for Technical Leadership (2006). She is also a founding member of the Scientific Council of the European Research Council.

Three years ago she was one of the founders of the Web Science Research Initiative, along with Professor Sir Tim Berners-Lee, Professor Nigel Shadbolt and Daniel Weitzner.

Throughout her career Wendy Hall has been a prominent advocate of extending women’s opportunities in science, engineering and technology.

More information:

Recent articles

Info Message

Our sites use cookies to support some functionality, and to collect anonymous user data.

Learn more about IET cookies and how to control them