SFIA Version 4 debuts

The SFIA Foundation this week releases version 4 of the Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA). The new version adds coverage in areas such as information management and enterprise architecture.

SFIA provides descriptions of professional IT skills at seven levels of responsibility. It has seen worldwide take-up since its launch in 2001. SFIA is in use by organisations throughout all sectors of industry and Government in the UK, and has been issued to organisations in over 100 other countries.

Delegates at the The SFIA Foundation’s eighth annual Skills Management conference on 4 December (2008) at London’s BERR Conference Centre will be briefed on the specifics of the latest version of SFIA. It will be available on the SFIA web site on the same day.

“SFIA’s success is largely a result of its inherent quality and focus - it defines the fundamental professional skills that underlie professional capability in IT, and avoids wallowing in technological detail,” says SFIA Foundation operations manager Ron McLaren. “Our update exercises are based on open consultation.”

Mclaren adds: “SFIA was produced by the IT industry, and the IT industry continues to help to keep SFIA relevant; for example, we had good input from itSMF on the terminology of service management skills. This is the kind of thing that keeps SFIA relevant.”

More information:

Recent articles

Info Message

Our sites use cookies to support some functionality, and to collect anonymous user data.

Learn more about IET cookies and how to control them